Near the Jacobean house is the colourful Parterre. The 182 beds are planted with shrubs, herbaceous perennials and annuals.
The Walled Kitchen Gardens are cultivated organically and are of interest throughout the year. The produce is used in the cafe or can be bought in the shop or if you live locally, through the organic box scheme.
From the Pond Garden with its elaborate carpet bedding walk over the River Cam to explore the Elysian Garden. The Park was partly laid out by ‘Capability’ Brown and contains the Temple of Concord and the Tea House bridge.
The Parterre is on the site of the 17th century Bowling Green and was remodelled first by ‘Capability’ Brown and again in 1831 by 3rd Lord Braybrook with advice from William Sawry Gilpin. The Pond Garden was built by James Pulham and Son in 1860s and contains a rockery and the Otter and Fish Pond.
Robert Adam designed the Palladian Tea Bridge in 1780 while the Temple of Concord was conceived by RW Brettingham ten years later.
Stunning snowdrops in February.
English Heritage members visit for free.