Explore the beautiful walled garden. Arranged as a series of garden rooms, the Rose Garden is spectacular in June.
Discover the Lily Pond, the White Garden and the stunning herbaceous borders near the kitchen garden.
Don’t miss the large kitchen garden with its wonderful cobbled paths.
The planting schemes for the formal walled gardens around Strode House, were designed by Colonel Lyle and his wife Elsie, with advice from Gertrude Jekyll. Jekyll never visited the site but discussed the project with the Lyles.
National Trust members visit for free.
William Clifton bought Barrington in 1552 and built the Court House.
Barrington was sold to Sir Thomas Phelips [Montacute] in 1605 who’s son sold the property in 1625 to William Strode. Strode built the new stables and coach house next door to the Court House.
For most of the 18th and 19th centuries, Barrington was let to a series of tenants and the buildings were neglected.
In 1890s, Canon Hardwick Rawnsley one of the founders of the National Trust, visited Barrington. It became the Trust’s first country house.
In 1915, Colonel Abram Arthur Lyle, grandson of the founder of Abram Lyle and Sons which later merged to form Tate & Lyle, visited Barrington with his architect James Edwin Forbes. A lease was signed and Lyle began a major restoration project on the house and surrounding buildings. Lyle also bought adjacent land and built farm buildings and estate cottages to fulfill his vision of a medieval working estate.
In 1985, the contents of Court House were auctioned and Lyle’s collection of artefacts was dispersed. The building was sub-let by Andrew Lyle but in 1991, the lease reverted to the National Trust.
Barrington Court was opened to the public in 2009.