There’s lots to see at Blicking including a Wilderness, the Shell Fountain and stunning herbaceous borders.
Spring bulbs are accompanied by a wonderful display of azaleas and rhododendrons.
Stand in the Temple and enjoy the views back to the house, parterre and lake.
Explore the Walled Garden with its abundance of fruit, vegetables and herbs.
Don’t miss the two secret tunnels in the garden.
There are several walks around the wider estate – the Mausoleum is on the edge of the Great Wood. Dogs are allowed on leads in the park but not in the formal gardens.
National Trust members visit for free.
Robert Lyminge designed Blickling Hall for Sir Henry Hobart [pronounced ‘Hubbard’] on the site of a medieval moated building between 1616 and 1626. Sir Henry also laid out the gardens with a banqueting house.
Sir Henry Hobart, 4th Baronet died in a dual in 1697 leaving three daughters and one son. The eldest of his daughters, Henrietta, married Charles Howard, 9th Earl of Suffolk and later became the mistress of the future King George II. Between 1724 and 1729, Henrietta Howard built Marble Hill in Twickenham.
Further additions to the garden were made in 1698 by John Hobart, later 1st Earl of Buckingham. Buckingham built a ha-ha, the Doric Temple and peppered the site with statues and ornaments.
Lady Caroline Suffield sort the advice of Humphry Repton as they had previously worked together at Gunton Hall. Repton’s son, John Adey Repton laid out the flower beds and designed several garden buildings in the late 1820s.
Designed by Joseph Bonomi, the Mausoleum was built as a memorial to Lady Suffield’s father.
William Kerr, 8th Marquess of Lothian inherited the estate at 9 years old. He married his first cousin, Lady Constance Talbot, in 1854.
In 1930s, 11th Marquess of Lothian commissioned the talented garden designer Norah Lindsay to remodel the Temple Walk and simplify the Parterre from 80 beds to 20.
In 1940, Lord Lothian gave the estate to the National Trust.