For the last forty years the gardens have been redesigned and replanted by Meredyth Proby. The Lily Pond has been enlarged and is planted with herbaceous perennials and shrubs.
The Edwardian Rose Garden has been replaced by the stunning Flower Garden with its wisteria walk and fountain by Giles Rayner.
To celebrate the Millenium, the Orangery was built and the Orangery Garden created with Mediterranean plants and oranges and lemon trees in terracotta pots. Nearby is the Shell Arbour, decorated by Charlotte Kerr Wilson.
Elton Hall is open on some afternoons during the summer.
In the late Middle Ages the Elton estate belonged to the Sapcote family. The core of the present house was built in 15th century by Sir Richard Sapcote.
In 1617 the estate was sold to Sir Thomas Proby who demolished much of the medieval house. His brother and heir, John Proby, built a new house incorporating the original gateway and chapel.
In the early 19th century, John Joshua Proby (created 1st Earl of Carysfort in 1789) made further alterations to the Hall and extended the park.
During the 1890s William, 5th Earl of Carysfort, made alterations to the gardens, possibly to designs by Henry Ernest Milner.
In 1911, Colonel Proby laid out new gardens to designs prepared by his daughter-in-law’s father A H Hallam Murray.
The gardens have been further developed by Meredyth Proby from 1980 onwards.
Lady Proby is a a Syndic of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, chair of its Development Trust and a member of the Government’s Acceptance in Lieu committe.
Her husband, Sir William Proby has held the positions of President of Historic Houses, Chairman of National Trust and Chairman of National Portrait Gallery.