Explore the wild garden and discover where the ‘Thunder and Lightning Man’ lived.
Beautiful snowdrops and bluebells in the Spring.
There are several walks through the woods, clearly but unobtrusively marked by posts.
The Walled Garden is currently being restored while the Mill Pond is a great place to see dragonfly, toad and other wildlife.
Don’t miss the twin-towered Folly which adds to the Gothic mood of fear, anxiety and horror.
Fyne Court is also the headquarters of the Somerset Wildlife Trust.
National Trust members visit for free.
In 1653, Andrew and Mary Crosse kept half of the estate at Broomfield and built Fyne Court.
The estate was inherited by Andrew Crosse V in 1800. Crosse dedicated his life to Physics and began experimenting with electricity as a child. Many of the rooms at Fyne Court were turned into laboratories ‘or other kinds of scientific dens’. Crosse gave talks in Exeter and London and in 1814, Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin, later Mary Shelley, attended one of his lectures. Four years later, Shelley published Frankenstein while Crosse’s theories that electricity could create life were vilified.
A friend of Copplestone Warre Bampfylde of Hestercombe and the poet Walter Savage Landor, Crosse and his wife often travelled ‘northward in search of the picturesque’.
Rev John Eagles was a frequent visitor at Fyne Court – he wrote in Blackwood’s Edinburgh Magazine of January, 1853: ‘Its character is pastoral. There is nothing dressed here, not even immediately about the house; but there are beautiful trees. The beeches prevail, whose silver stems so gracefully make a light in the deep wood shades.’ Little has changed.
A fire broke out in 1894 and destroyed most of the house except for the Service Court, Music Room and Library.
The house was given to the National Trust in 1967.