Explore the North Border which is filled with herbaceous perennials and flowering shrubs.
Wander around the pleasure grounds with cypresses, shrubs and lawns laid out in the Italian-style to complement the Rotunda.
Other features to look out for are the recently created Temple Garden, Walled Garden, Plantations and the 4th Earl’s Summerhouse.
Don’t miss the Stumpery. Recently created by the National Trust, the area is filled with stumps, plants and stones from the Giant’s Causeway.
Lots of places to walk – see the website for details.
National Trust members visit for free.
The Hervey family bought land at Ickworth in 1432 and built a manor house.
In 1706, John Hervey created a walled garden and summerhouse and built a canal but four years later, the house was demolished. The family moved into Ickworth Lodge. On becoming 1st Earl of Bristol in 1714, Hervey enlarged the park and planted many trees.
‘Capability’ Brown was commissioned to draw up plans for the park and gardens in 1776 for the 2nd Earl but it is unclear how many of his ideas were implemented.
The 4th Earl travelled widely throughout Europe, amassing a large collection of art and antiques. As the third son of the previous Earl, he had not expected to inherit the title and had entered the Church. He became Bishop of Derry which during this period was the richest see in Ireland. This helped fund his lifestyle and the building of a new house. Work started in 1795 with designs drawn by Mario Asprucci and adapted by Francis Sandys. The house was completed in 1821 for the 5th Earl and 1st Marquis of Bristol. The Earl was also responsible for laying out the garden which remains virtually unaltered today.
In 1956, the Hervey family gave Ickworth to the National Trust.
In 2002, the East Wing was opened as a luxury hotel.