Brightly coloured formal beds are on the lower lawns near the house while gravel paths lead up to the Higher Gardens.
Enjoy the magnolia tunnel, camellias, rhododendrons and bluebells in the Spring while the herbaceous borders are splendid in the summer.
Explore the ancient woodlands and riverside walks on foot or hire a bike.
National Trust members visit for free.
The first surviving survey of the land, the Lanhydrock Atlas was drawn in 1695 by Joel Gascoyne for Charles Robartes, 2nd Earl of Radnor. Radnor also inherited the Wimpole estate in Cambridgeshire. After 1730, the house and garden were neglected with the family rarely visiting the house. A visitor in 1756 recorded: ‘Everything in and about the house [is] in a state of neglect and decay’.
It was not until 1798 that the estate was rescued by Anna Maria Hunt and her husband Charles Agar, youngest son of Viscount Clifden. They commissioned George Truefitt to design an Italianate formal garden with geometric beds, steps and gravel paths and a new kitchen garden with a heated melonry. George Gilbert Scott and his assistant Richard Coad carried out essential work to the house; Coad also updated the formal garden.
A devastating fire in 1881 destroyed much of the house. Thomas and Mary Agar-Robartes commissioned Coad to rebuild the house using fireproof materials. Their adored eldest son Tommy was killed in the First World War and the estate passed to their second son Gerald Agar Robartes in 1930. Gerald simplified the earlier garden designs and planted hundreds of pink and red roses. With no children, and also having inherited Wimpole Hall in Cambridgeshire, Gerald gave Lanhydrock to the National Trust in 1953.