Magnificent views from the Castle over the Estate.
Discover the Chapel surrounded by rhododendrons and the Rose Garden near the Castle.
The Castle and Park are open on several days a week from Easter until December but closed during Camp Bestival – check the website for details.
Historic Houses members visit for free but there are car parking charges.
The Castle was built in the early 17th century by Thomas 3rd Lord Bindon, Keeper of the Royal Game in Dorset. The estate was bought by Humphry Weld in 1641 and an elaborate garden was laid out. Lulworth is still owned by the Weld family.
By 1733, the formal gardens at Lulworth had gone with not a single pavilion or fountain left.
In 1786, Thomas Weld commissioned John Tasker to build the Chapel of St Mary which stands surrounded by rhododendrons in the grounds.
In 1929 a fire destroyed the Castle and was reopened in 1998 with the help of English Heritage and the Weld Estate.