The gardens at Newark are on three levels. Features include the Glade Walk, Rockery and the herbaceous borders beside the lake.
Don’t miss the summerhouse near the lake.
There are three walks around the estate – look for signs in the car park.
National Trust members visit for free.
Newark was built as a hunting lodge by Sir Nicholas Poyntz in 1550s. Poyntz’s main seat was at nearby Acton Court – a fascinating house and well-worth visiting if you have the chance.
In 1600 the lodge was sold to the Low family who extended the building in 1672. By 1769, the estate was owned by the Clutterbucks. Over the next century, members of the family enlarged the house, terraced the hillside, landscaped the Park with a ha-ha, created the lake and built several buildings including a gothic folly.
After the death of their last tenant in 1949, the Clutterbucks gave the estate to the National Trust.
By 1970, the house and gardens had become neglected. First leased as a nursing home, it was not until Robert Parsons, a Texan architect rented the property that the house and gardens were restored.
Under a network of brambles near the lake, Parsons also discovered the 18th century summerhouse.