The working Kitchen Garden is filled with heritage fruit trees, vegetables and banana palm.
Discover the Rose Garden against the beautiful backdrop of the Orangery.
Explore the wider landscape including the Menagerie Garden, Druids Bridge, Middle Lake and Obelisk.
The estate remained in the Winn family until 1984, when it was given to the National Trust in lieu of death duties.
National Trust Members visit for free.
After the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the Priory passed through several hands until it was bought by the Winn family in 1654. It remained in their family until 1980s.
Sir Rowland Winn, 4th Baronet, inherited the property in 1722 aged 16. After returning from his Grand Tour, he commissioned Colonel James Moyser to design a new house based, it is thought, on Palladio’s Villa Mocenigo.
Sir Rowland also appointed Stephen Switzer to create plans for the landscape although it is not certain how many of his ideas were implemented.
After Sir Rowland’s death, Nostell was inherited by his son Rowland who chose Robert Adam to continue work on the house and to design the Obelisk Lodge. The Menagerie Garden was added in 1743 with its collection of wild animals including the ‘black-eyed lioness’.