Wander through the woods at any time of year and marvel at their reflections in the lakes.
The landscape gardens are at their best in the Autumn when the ornamental trees turn vibrant oranges, yellows and gold.
In the spring, daffodils and bluebells blanket the ground when the rhododendrons and azaleas are in flower.
Dogs are allowed in the gardens after 1.30pm daily.
National Trust members visit for free.
Sheffield Park was owned by the De La Warr family in 1292 and passed through several hands before it was sold to John Baker Holroyd in 1769.
Holroyd commissioned James Wyatt to redesign the house and ‘Capability’ Brown to update the parkland and wood. Brown also created the Upper and Lower Woman’s Way Ponds.
In 1789, further alterations were made by Humphry Repton although no Red Book of his designs has been discovered.
Holroyd was created Baron Sheffield in 1781 and Earl of Sheffield in 1816.
In 1910, Sheffield Park was sold to Arthur Gilstrap Soames. Soames updated the house installing electricity and adding bathrooms – previously there had only been one.
Soames was also interested in gardening. He corresponded with leading horticulturists of the day including EA Bowles, WJ Bean of Kew and Sir George Holford of Westonbirt arboretum. Soames loved rhododendrons and experimented with creating later flowering hybrids including Rhododendron ‘Angelo’.
Soames died in 1934 and his widow continued to live at Sheffield Park until 1945.
In 1953, Soame’s nephew sold the estate and Sheffield Park was divided in two. The ornamental gardens were bought by the National Trust while after changing hands several times, the house was bought and converted into fifteen apartments by Period Homes. The Arundel Estate Sussex Ltd built a ‘housing court’ on the site of formal gardens.