There’s something to see at Sizergh at all times of the year. Enjoy the recently restored Dutch Garden, Rock Garden and Stumpery with its National Collection of hardy ferns. Wander through the orchards, along the herbaceous border and Fruit Wall and explore the Kitchen Garden.
And don’t forget to discover the wetland, limestone pastures, woodland and orchards on the 1600 acre estate where dogs are allowed. With this diverse habitat, it’s a great place to see wildlife including hawfinches, fritillary butterflies as well as wildflowers.
National Trust members visit for free.
Sizergh has been home to the Strickland family for over 700 years after Elizabeth Deincourt married Sir William de Stirkeland in 1239. The house originated as a pele tower in the fourteenth century on the site of an earlier building. A Great Hall was added c1450 with later additions in the 16th and 18th centuries.
The terrace steps and lake were created by T Hayes & Son in 1926 for Gerald Strickland, later 1st Baron Strickland. The firm also laid out the Dutch and Rock Gardens.
Sizergh was given to the National Trust in 1950 by Lt. Cdr. Thomas Hornyold-Strickland, 7th Count della Catena. It is still lived in by the family.