An Introduction to Garden History In October, The Gardens Trust in association with the Garden Museum, is running an introduction to garden history. The seven lectures will give students an
The Tudor House and seventeenth century stable block (Strode House) were restored in 1920s by Colonel Lyle. The formal walled gardens were inspired by Gertrude Jekyll’s work while the model farm buildings were built by the Lyles as a working medieval estate.
After the Dissolution of the Monasteries, Beningbrough was sold to John Banister who gave it to his nephew Ralph Bourchier in 1556. John Bourchier built the current house in 1716; the build was overseen by William Thornton although the architect is not known.
Adjacent to Wells Cathedral, Bishops Jocelin began building the Palace c.1210. Originally surrounded by a deer park, the gardens were laid out in 1820s by Bishop George Law who was an advocate of the picturesque and created a reflecting pond near the springs.
Robert Lyminge designed Blickling Hall for Sir Henry Hobart on the site of a medieval moated building between 1616 and 1626. The gardens were created with a banqueting house and were further developed in 1698 by Sir John Hobart, later 1st Earl of Buckingham.
111 Gardens in London That You Shouldn’t Miss 111 Gardens in London That You Shouldn’t Miss by Kirstin von Glasow (Paperback: 01.06.2018) This is an interesting and fun collection of
English Garden English Garden Written by Ursula Buchan with photographs by Andrew Lawson (Hardback; published 05.10.2017) A fascinating history of the English Garden with over 350 colour photographs and discussions
Kiftsgate Court Gardens: Three Generations of Women Gardeners Kiftsgate Court Gardens: Three Generations of Women Gardeners by Vanessa Berridge with a foreword by Robin Lane Fox (Hardback; published 06/04/2019) Kiftsgate
Secret Gardeners: Britain’s Creatives Reveal Their Private Sanctuaries Secret Gardeners: Britain’s Creatives Reveal Their Private Sanctuaries Written by Victoria Summerely with photographs by Hugo Rittson Thomas (Hardback; published 05.10.2017) A
Secret Gardens of East Anglia – Secret Gardens Secret Gardens of East Anglia – Secret Gardens Written by Barbara Segall with Photographs by Marcus Harpur (Hardback: 07.09.2017) With an introduction
Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds – Secret Gardens Secret Gardens of the Cotswolds – Secret Gardens Written by Victoria Summerley with photographs by Hugo Rittson Thomas (Hardback; published 05.02.2015) Designed
The Brother Gardeners: Botany, Empire and the Birth of an Obsession The Brother Gardeners: Botany, Empire and the Birth of an Obsession by Andrea Wulf (Paperback; published 05.02.2009) A fascinating
The Morville Hours: The Story of a Garden The Morville Hours: The Story of a Garden by Katherine Swift (Paperback; published 06.04.2009) Described by Andrea Wulf in The Guardian, 16th
The Story of the English Garden The Story of the English Garden by Ambra Edwards (Hardback; published 18.06.2018) Using the archives of the National Trust, Edwards’ work is an entertaining
BOOK REVIEW: Vita Sackville-West’s Sissinghurst: The Creation of a Garden by Vita Sackville-West and Sarah Raven
Vita Sackville-West’s Sissinghurst: The Creation of a Garden Vita Sackville-West’s Sissinghurst: The Creation of a Garden by Vita Sackville-West and Sarah Raven (Hardback; published 06.03.2014) Between 1946 and 1961, Vita
Originally a Cistercian abbey founded in 1278 by Amicia, Countess of Devon, it remained an abbey until the Dissolution of the Monasteries. Henry VIII sold it to Sir Richard Grenville who began to convert the building into a house with the help of his son Sir Roger Grenville….
Claremont Landscape Garden is a magnificent oasis of peace, easily reached from London. Many great names of landscape design have been included in its history including Sir John Vanbrugh, Charles Bridgeman, William Kent and Lancelot Brown. There are lots of things to discover in the garden including a grass amphitheatre, serpentine paths, a lake, grotto, Belvedere, Thatched Cottage and Camellia Terrace.
Home to the Proby family since 1660, Sir Thomas Proby rebuilt the house in 1665, incorporating the medieval chapel and gatehouse into the new design. Subsequent generations have added to the house and it contains a superb collection of art, paintings and books.
Forde Abbey was founded as a monastery in the twelfth century and after the Dissolution of the Monasteries was leased by the Crown to Richard Pollard. It was not lived in until it was bought in 1649 by Edmund Prideaux who later became Oliver Cromwell’s Attorney General.
Fyne Court is inextricably linked with its nineteenth century owner, Andrew Crosse. A great British eccentric, Crosse dedicated his life to Physics and used the rooms of his house as laboratories and the trees surrounding his property as part of his experiments.
The Quaker Fox family bought several gardens near the town of Falmouth in the nineteenth century. Alfred Fox bought Glendurgan in 1820s and established walks down the valley to the hamlet of Durgan and built the ponds and planted the cherry and pear orchards.
The dramatically sublime landscape was created in the eighteenth century by generations of the Hill family. It is filled with precipice walks, caves, grottoes and towers and combines the intellect of the Picturesque with the unreserved flamboyance of the Rococo.
Hestercombe is a combination of three styles of gardening: Arcadian, Victorian and the Edwardian designs of Gertrude Jekyll and Edwin Lutyens. Beautifully restored, there are lakes, temples, terraces, formal gardens and breathtaking views over the Vale of Taunton Dean.
Holker Hall dates from the sixteenth century with later additions and was largely rebuilt in Jacobean style by George Webster for the 7th Duke of Devonshire. After a devastating fire in 1871, the Duke commissioned E.G. Paley and Hubert Austin to rebuild the west wing.
Thomas Coke inherited the estate in 1707 at the age of 10. He met William Kent on his Grand Tour and on his return, began to remodel the house and garden. The design of the house by Matthew Brettingham was modified by Coke, Lord Burlington and William Kent….
It’s Time to Vote for the Nation’s Favourite Garden! The English Garden, the National Garden Scheme and Viking Cruises have joined forces to find the Nation’s Favourite Garden. With a
The first surviving survey of the land at Lanhydrock was carried out in 1695 and shows a series of compartments to the east, north and north-west of the house. Further money was spent on the garden in eighteenth century and again at the end of the nineteenth century.
St. Austell, Cornwall
A chance discovery in 1990s led to the restoration of the Victorian gardens and surrounding pleasure grounds and sub-tropical jungle valley garden. Originally created in seventeenth century, the gardens fell into disrepair during the two World Wars.
Mount Edgcumbe was built in 1547 but was largely destroyed by bombs during the Second World War. The garden nearest the house includes the Earl’s Garden, summerhouses, Shell Seat and knot garden and is only accessible by ticket, while the lower garden is free and very different.
In 1562, Osterley was bought by Sir Thomas Gresham who rebuilt the house and developed the garden. The house passed through several hands until 1752 when, on inheriting the house from his father, Sir Francis Child commissioned Robert Adam to redesign the house.
After the Dissolution of the Monasteries, Persevells Farm was bought by Peter Yorke whose second son, Thomas, inherited the estate in 1589. From then until the Hall was bought by Sir William Milner in 1927, the house remained virtually unaltered.
Sir John de Pulteney built Penshurst in 1341 and it was subsequently owned by the Duke of Buckingham. On his execution for treason in 1551, the estate reverted to the Crown and after passing to Sir Ralph Fane who was also executed for treason, Edward VI gave Penshurst to Sir William Sidney. It has remained in the Sidney family ever since.
Home to the Sitwell family for nearly four hundred years, the Hall was built c1625 by George Sitwell and extended in 1793 by Joseph Badger for Sitwell Sitwell. The formal gardens were laid out in the late nineteenth century by Sir George Sitwell 4th Baronet, great-grandfather of the current owner.
The timber-framed hall is all that survives from the original Rufford Old Hall which was built c1530 for Sir Robert Hesketh. In 1661, a brick wing was added with a third wing built in 1820s. In 1798, the Heskeths moved to Rufford New Hall and in 1936, Thomas Fermor-Hesketh, 1st Baron Hesketh gave the building to the National Trust.
The formal gardens are situated near the Castle while a path round the lake leads to the Maple Garden, the Cascade, Pope’s seat, the Folly and the Clarevoire from where the New Castle can be seen over the water in one direction and the twelfth century Old Castle in the other.
The estate was owned by the Bishops of Lichfield until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed through several hands until it was bought by William Anson in 1624. In 1694, the manor house was demolished and a new house was built which forms part of the current house.
The Tower, Priest’s House and South Cottage are all that remain of the original Elizabethan house that was probably build Richard Baker c1560-70. In 1930, Harold Nicolson and Vita Sackville-West bought Sissinghurst and began restoring the buildings and garden….
During the seventeenth century, the house and surrounding gardens were created for John Wentworth. The property was sold to Sir Thomas Allen of Lowestoft in 1669 and remained in the family until 1844 when it was sold to Sir Samuel Morton Peto, the father of Harold Peto.
The estate was bought by Rowland Berkeley in 1606 and remains in the family today. The original moated house was set on fire after the Battle of Worcester in 1651 and was not rebuilt until 1811 to a design by John Tasker at which time the landscape was also altered.
Rolf Gardiner bought Springhead in 1931 with the aim of creating self-supporting communities returning to the land. His daughter Rosalind Richards has continued his work in music and the arts and runs courses from the house; Richards has also restored the garden.
Stanway House is thought to have been built by Sir Paul Tracy at the beginning of the seventeenth century and enlarged by his son. The formal landscape was developed in the mid-eighteenth century and includes terracing, the Long Canal, Pyramid, Arboretum and Cascade.
In 1547, the Duke of Somerset was given Syon Monastery and the parkland. He built a new house with raised terraces to look out over the Thames. However the terrace was misconstrued as the first stage of building fortifications, and the Duke was charged with felony and executed in 1552.
Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire
The house was built c.1720 by a clothier from Bradford-upon-Avon and was bought by John Davis at the end of the eighteenth century. The Courts had a cloth weaving factory at the western end of the garden which was pulled down by Davis’s grandson in 1888; the rubble was used to fill in the two mill ponds.
The Swiss Garden which forms part of an earlier landscape park, was created by Robert, 3rd Lord Ongley between 1824 and 1832. Probably inspired by J B Papworth’s Hints on Ornamental Gardening, the picturesque garden includes meandering paths, lakes, follies, a Grotto, Fernery and in the middle of the garden, the Swiss Cottage.
Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild bought the estate from the Duke of Marlborough in 1874. De Rothschild built the house in the style of a French chateau between 1874 and 1889 and created the formal and informal gardens with advice from the Parisian landscape architect Elie Laine.
Haywards Heath, Sussex
The house was built in 1590 by Sir Edward Culpeper and then passed through several hands until it was bought by Admiral Peyton in 1776. The estate was tenanted for a number of years with parts of the land sold off until 1869 when the remaining land and house was sold to the Dowager Duchess of …
West Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
The Dashwoods bought the manor of West Wycombe in 1698 with Sir Francis Dashwood replacing the earlier house c1710-15. Dashwood formed the notorious Hellfire Club at West Wycombe whose motto was: ‘Fais ce que tu voudrais’; it met irregularly between 1749 and 1760s.
Founded as a Cistercian abbey in 1145, Woburn Abbey was given to the Russell family in 1547 by Edward VI. Since then, the house has gone through several transformations with Henry Flitcroft rebuilding the West Wing into the Palladian House for the 4th Duke of Bedford.