Although the garden at The Homewood originally belonged to the Victorian house which was demolished and replaced by The Homewood, its connection to the house is spectacular. The house was designed in the Modernist style by the architect Patrick Gwynne for his family and was finished in May 1938. Influenced by Le Corbusier’s Villa Savoye and Ludwig Miles van der Rohe’s Tugendhat House, the principal rooms of The Homewood are on the first floor with huge areas of glass overlooking the garden. Described by his father, Commander Alban Gwynne, as ‘A Temple of Costly Experience’, Gwynne continually added and remodelled the house to reflect the changing times until his death in 2003. The house was accepted by the National Trust in 1994 along with a ‘Green Book’ which contains over one hundred pages of Gwynne’s ‘notes, designs and practical tips’ for the garden.
The Homewood is open on alternate Fridays and Saturdays between April and October. All visits must be pre-booked and as there is no parking on site, visits to the house and garden is via Minibus from nearby Claremont Landscape Gardens. See website for details